Howard Dickinson House
Posed serenely on a gentle hill overlooking Henderson’s South Main Street, the Howard – Dickinson House stands as a testament to 155 years of Rusk County history.
It is the first brick home built in Rusk County built in 1855 by the brothers, David P. and Jas. Logan Howard settlers from Richmond, Va. The Howard’s made bricks with mud mill and then with a patented machine and kiln on the premises.
A frequent visitor in early years to this house was Texas Statesman, Sam Houston, a cousin of Martha Ann (Mrs. Dave ) Howard. The Howard’s called it home for 50 years.
The home was bought in 1905 by Mrs. M.C. Dickinson. The Dickinson’s lived in the house for nearly 50 years. They added a wing which contains the library.
Mr. and Mrs. Homer Bryce purchased the house in 1950, but it stood empty for 14 years. During this time it earned a reputation as a ghost house and vandals destroyed the interior. In 1964, Homer Bryce deeded the house to the Rusk County Heritage Association which organized the restore it despite discouraging options. Designated a living museum, the Howard-Dickinson House extends its hospitality as a popular meeting place. The house is rented for receptions, parties and weddings.
Today, visitors will find the Howard-Dickinson House’s a reputation for hospitality well-deserved.
Contact : Chamber of Commerce
115 N. Main Street
Tours by appointment only.